Tee Booking

Golf tournaments and competitions in Ballynahinch

At Spa Golf Club, we conduct golf tournaments at our golf course in Ballynahinch, County Down. Contact us today for more details on our tournaments.

Men's membership card and fixture list 2017

CAPTAIN: John Brannigan MBE
PRESIDENT: Hugh Hegan

March
  • 04-Mar - Sweep (13 or 18 Holes) (Stableford) 
  • 11-Mar - SCRAMBLE (4 BALL BETTER BALL)
  • 18-Mar - ORDER OF MERIT (OKANE TROPHY) QUALIFYING STARTS 18TH MARCH
  • 18-Mar - MONTALTO CUP  
  • 25-Mar - BOYD CUP (EASTER SATURDAY)  
April
  • 01-Apr - SCOTIA CUP QUALIFYING (STROKE)
  • 02-Apr - OPEN MIXED 
  • 05-Apr - MARK GIBSON TROPHY QUALIFYING (BEST 8 MIDWEEK BALL CARDS COUNT)
  • 08-Apr - FERGUSON TROPHY  
  • 15-Apr - ERIC DODD CUP (STROKE)
  • 17-Apr - OPEN EASTER MONDAY  
  • 22-Apr - SCRAMBLE (Convenors choice)  
  • 29-Apr - WALLACE CUP  
  • 30-Apr - OPEN MIXED 
May
  • 01-May MAY DAY - GENTS OPEN  
  • 06-May ULSTER SPORTS/SUNBOUND QUALIFYING (STROKE)
  • 13-May JOE MULHOLLAND CUP  
  • 20-May SCRATCH CUPS(VICE PRESIDENTS CUP 36 HOLES, A LA CARTE & SAM GRAHAM CUPS 18 HOLES (STROKE)
  • 27-May SCRAMBLE (Convenors choice)  
  • 28-May OPEN MIXED 
June
  • 03-Jun - H L HEGAN CUP  
  • 10-Jun - LIONS OPEN  
  • 17-Jun - PLESSEY CUP  
  • 24-Jun - CAPTAINS DAY (John Brannigan MBE)  
  • 25-Jun - OPEN MIXED 
July
  • 01-Jul - McILVEEN CUP (STROKE)
  • 08-Jul - CALDWELL CUP  
  • 15-Jul - DOMINIC STRATTON MEMORIAL (STROKE)
  • 22-Jul - DJ BELL CUP  
  • 29-Jul - PRESIDENTS DAY (Hugh Hegan)  
  • 30-Jul - OPEN MIXED 
August

OPEN WEEK - August 12th - 19th 
  • 05-Aug - EDEN NA VADIE TROPHY  
  • 12-Aug - OPEN (STABLEFORD) 
  • 13-Aug - OPEN MIXED 
  • 19-Aug - SPA CUP (STROKE)
  • 26-Aug - SUMMIT TROPHY  
  • 27-Aug - OPEN MIXED 
September

MARK GIBSON TROPHY QUALIFYING ENDS 6TH SEPTEMBER 
  • 02-Sep - BRIAN IRVINE TROPHY  
  • 09-Sep - MOORES CARAVANS CUP  
  • 16-Sep - PROFFESSIONALS PRIZES 18 HOLES  
  • 23-Sep - ACTION PRESS  
  • 24-Sep - OPEN MIXED 
  • 30-Sep - SWEEP  
October

ORDER OF MERIT QUALIFYING FINISHES 7TH OCTOBER

WINTER LEAGUE/TURKEY TROT - Starts 16th October 
  • 07-Oct - SWEEP  
  • 14-Oct - SCRAMBLE (Convenors choice)  
  • 16-Oct - START OF WINTER LEAGUE QUALIFYING (13 HOLES)  
  • 21-Oct -13 HOLE WINTER LEAGUE SWEEP  
  • 22-Oct - OPEN MIXED  
December

HAMPER WEEKEND - December 16th & 17th  

ALL EVENTS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE

STARTING SHEETS
Starting sheets for Captain’s Day, President’s Day, Open Competitions and Special Events apply

PRIZE GIVING
November 2017

WINTER LEAGUE PRIZE GIVING
March 2017

SCRATCH CUPS’ NOTE
There will be one prize for the best gross in each section.
 (Vice-President’s Cup,Sam Graham Cup and the A La Carte Cup.)
The overall competition will be played as a sweep with prizes going to the first three stableford nett scores. 
(No player may win two prizes.)

MARK GIBSON TROPHY
 Best 8 midweek ball cards to count.

O’KANE (ORDER OF MERIT) TROPHY POINTS
Points will be awarded, as follows, according to finishing positions
in all Saturday competitions.
  • First Place - 20 points
  • Second place - 17
  • Third place - 15
  • Fourth place - 14
  • Fifth place - 13
  • Sixth place - 12
  • Seventh place - 11
  • Eighth place - 10 etc.
  • Matchplay Singles Winner 15 Runner-up - 10 
  • beaten semi-Finalists - 5

MATCHPLAY SINGLES
  • Winner - 15 points
  • Runner-up - 10 points
  • Beaten semi-finalists - 5 points
(Shaw Cup Doubles, Lowe Cup Seniors & John Smith Mixed
do not count for Order of Merit points).

Lady's membership card and fixture list 2017

LADY CAPTAIN: Mrs Heather Edgar
LADY PRESIDENT: Mrs Mandy Murphy

March
  • Fri 24-March-17 - Bring and Win – 9 hole competition TBC Draw on Comp Day
  • Fri 31-March-17 - Lindsay Cup Stableford Online
April
  • Fri 07-Apr-17 - Caldwell Cup Stableford Draw
  • Fri 14-Apr-17 - Hugh Gordon Cup Stableford Draw
  • Fri 21-Apr-17 - Montalto Cup Qualifier Stableford Draw
  • Fri 28-Apr-17 - Slieve Croob Cup Stroke/Medal Draw
May
  • Fri 05-May-17 - **Peggy Nelson Qualifier – 3 categories Stableford Online
  • Fri 12-May-17 - Josie Murray Cup Stroke/Medal Draw
  • Sat 20-May-17 - Sweep Stableford Draw
  • Tue 23-May-17 - Peugeot LGU Coronation Foursomes Stableford Timesheet in Clubhouse
  • Fri 26-May-17 - O2 Challenge Trophy Stableford Draw
June
  • Fri 02 June 2017 **PGA Tankard Qualifier Stableford Online
  • Fri 09 June 2017 McRoberts Rosebowl Stroke/Medal Draw
  • Tues 13 June 2017 Daisy Ferguson Qualifier Greensomes Stableford Timesheet in Clubhouse
  • Fri 16 June 2017 Open Team Waltz Waltz Online
  • Fri 23 June 2017 Mr Captain's Prizes TBC Online
  • Tues 27 June 2017 Nellie Garrett Qualifier Foursomes Stableford Timesheet in Clubhouse
  • Fri 30 June 2017 Lady Captain's Day TBC Online
July 
  • Fri 07 July 2017 Plessey Cup Stroke/Medal Online
  • Fri 14 July 2017 Sweep Stableford Draw
  • Fri 21 July 2017 Challenge Cup Stableford Draw
  • Fri 28 July 2017 Mr President's Prizes TBC Online
August 

Open week - Aug 12th - 19th
  • Fri 04 August 2017 Lady President's Day TBC Online
  • Fri 11 August 2017 **Sena Fenneran Cup Stroke/Medal Draw
  • Tue 15 August 2017 Open Week Stableford Stableford Online
  • Fri 18 August 2017 Open Week Scramble Online
  • Fri 25 August 2017 Combat Cancer Trophy Stableford Draw
Sept
  • Fri 01 Sept 2017 Harvest Cup Stroke/Medal Online
  • Fri 08 Sept 2017 Kinray Trophy Stableford Draw
  • Fri 15 Sept 2017 Sweep Stableford Draw
  • Fri 22 Sept 2017 Autumn Open Greensomes Stableford Online
  • Fri 29 Sept2017 Winter League commences  
** Denotes Scores for Lowe Cup


Lady Captain's Day
Only members who have returned three Spa 18–hole single competition cards are eligible to compete for Lady Captain’s prizes (no returns will not count).

Tuesday Ball
Commences 4th April 2017. Cards taken out from 5.00 pm. Presentation at 8.45 pm.  

Eclectic Card
31 March 2017 - 22 September 2017.  
All 18-hole single competition cards to count.

Birdie Tree
18-hole or 9 hole single competition cards to count.  

McIlveen Cup
Over 50’s. Best 18-hole single competition card of the season.

Hunter Cup
Over 60’s. Best two front nines from 18-hole single competition cards.

Lowe Cup**
Over 50’s. Best two single competition cards out of the three selected dates.

Montalto Cup 
Matchplay the first 16 placed competitors qualify from 21 April 2017 competition.

Howitt Cup 
Matchplay see notice board for details.

Foursomes Matchplay Trophy
See notice board for details.

Adams/Aiken Trophy 
Matchplay for category 5 members (handicaps 26-36). See notice board for details.

McEvoy Cup 
Winner of club outing.

Sarah Brennan Cup 
Winner of Past Captains' competition.

Coburn Cup 
Overall winner of the Tuesday Ball competition.

Drumlin Shield
Tues 4th April 2017 St Patrick’s Golf Club
Tues 2nd May 2017 Spa Golf Club
Tues 6th June 2017 Ardglass Golf Club

ILGU Finals
Peggy Nelson Trophy – Dunmurry Monday 17 July 2017
Peugeot LGU Coronation Foursomes – Masserene Tuesday 1 August 2017
Daisy Ferguson Trophy - RCDL Monday 7 August 2017
Nellie Garrett Cup - Knock GC Thursday 31 August 2017
PGA Tankard – TBC
AIG Ladies Cups and Shields Ulster Finals – Bangor 2 - 3 September 2017
2017 ILGU Medal Finals (Silver and Bronze) – Finals to be played in 2018. Details to be confirmed

Office Bearers and Committee Members 2017
Lady President - Mrs M Murphy
Lady Vice President – Miss S Beattie
Lady Captain Mrs H Edgar
Lady Vice Captain – Mrs C Shields
Secretary – Mrs D Cunningham (028) 9756 3529
Competition/Handicap Secretary - Mrs H Baxter (028) 9263 9841
Treasurer - Mrs A Byrne
Past Lady Captain – Mrs V Abernethy
Committee Member – Mrs G Earls

Team Captains
Junior Cup - Mrs U Kelly
Intermediate Cup - Miss T McCullagh
Minor League Cup - Mrs L Adams
Challenge Cup - Mrs V McCormick
Junior Foursomes - Mrs S Douglas
Senior Foursomes - Miss S Beattie
Active Revive Fourball – Mrs E Canavan
Cowdy Cup – Mrs G Earls
Drumlin Shield – Lady Vice Captain Mrs C Shields
September Shield – Mrs V Abernethy
Tuesday Ball – Mrs L Adams, Mrs K Russell and Mrs A Hamilton
Juvenile Girls - Mrs G Cordner 
Mixed Competitions - Miss T McCullagh, Mrs M West
Ladies Outing – Lady Vice President Miss S Beattie, Lady Vice Captain Mrs C Shields

Functions
Presentation Night - TBC
AGM - Monday 4 December 2017

Mixed Competitions
Sun 02 April 2017
Sun 30 April 2017
Sun 28 May 2017
Sun 25 June 2017
Sun 30 July 2017
Sun 13 August 2017 (Open Week)
Sun 27 August 2017 
Sun 24 September 2017
Sun 22 October 2017 



Are you planning to take part in our golf competitions?

Spa Golf Club organises open golf competitions and golf tournaments at our golf course in Ballynahinch, County Down. Contact our trainers today for more details on golf competitions and tournaments. Our golf club is located in Ballynahinch, welcoming customers from all over Northern Ireland. Contact us to book your tee time.
Get in touch with us today
Visit our golf club in Ballynahinch or call us on
028 9756 2365
for more information on our golf tournaments
Share by: